Skincare 101: My MUST HAVE Cleansers

As promised 2 days ago, here’s the first of my “Taking care of my Skin” posts. Be warned, I’m not much of a beauty blogger although I wax lyrical about skincare in real life. Let’s start from the basics – cleansers.

I currently use 3 cleansers – Laneige’s Multi Cleanser, SK-II‘s Facial Treatment Cleansing Gel and SK-II’s Facial Treatment Gentle Cleanser.   My most regular wash is the Facial Treatment Gentle Cleanser. I use Laneige for when I have had light makeup on or was in an especially dusty/dirty area in the day. The Cleansing Gel is my go-to when I put on my drama mama make up face.

SK-II Facial Treatment Cleansing Gel

SK-II Facial Treatment Cleansing Gel is a gentle, water-based gel formulation make-up remover that thoroughly removes make-up, foundation, mascara and oil. For all skin types.

It’s a creamy, silky and somewhat thick white gel that’s designed to be applied onto dry skin to remove makeup. You massage it well onto the skin (avoiding the eye contour area) before adding some water to emulsify the product (like a cleansing oil). It’s an unscented and gentle and hydrating cleanser so it’s good for those with sensitive skin. It’s a good product for those who like to remove most of their makeup off before deep cleansing with their usual cleanser. This product removes some of the makeup but also leaves a slight residue on the skin.

Overall it’s a gentle makeup remover/cleanser which leaves my skin feeling smooth and hydrated.

Price: SGD$81.00 (100ml)
Years of use : Since 2009

Laneige Multi Cleanser

4-in-1 cleanser that removes makeup, removes sunscreen, exfoliates and cleanses all at once. For all skin types.

The light pink pearlescent cream has the typical Laneige scent, and a small amount produces a sufficient amount of foam for a thorough cleansing. There are beads in the foam, but they are too tiny and mild to produce any effect and cannot be considered a scrub at all. It cleans really well though, even for oily skins, without leaving the skin dry or taut.

Stress test with a crap load of bb cream, eyes shadow primer, eyeshadows, waterproof mascara, eyeliners, lipgloss, blush, etc gives pretty good results. The cosmetics sat for about 10 minutes before being subjected to a pea sized dollop of cleanser. Don’t use too much because this is technically a mild exfoliator and you don’t wanna over exfoliate your skin.

PS: Not my arm.

It got rid of most – if not all – of the makeup with the exception of waterproof mascara…you can still see the little black residues. If you use a makeup remover or makeup wipe before using this cleanser, I’m pretty sure it would get rid of everything. My skin is left feeling taut (the good kind), clean and refreshed.

Price : SGD$ 35.00 (180ml)
Years of use : Since 2010

SK-II Facial Treatment Gentle Cleanser

This specially formulated cleanser is meant to give you luxurious results and provide velvety soft, cleansed skin. A concentration of Pitera™ and mild treatment essence means optimum hydration. For all skin types.

Okay, okay.. I am somewhat of an SK-II fangirl. Not because I’m materialistic or anything and need only to use the best of the best, but because they really work for me. My skin is a little bit of a bitch and can be ultra sensitive. But the bottom line is : I love this cleanser. I can be flaky and dry one day and oily and blemish-y the next, and then both on the same day so I need a cleanser that really cleans without overly drying me out.

The consistency is quite creamy and it foams up moderately. Although it contains no additive fragrance but there is a gentle floral scent, which is very pleasant.

It leaves me with moist and supple skin that doesn’t exactly hurry me to go slap on some toner. Definitely on the pricey side for a simple cleanser but I’m a willing victim.

Price : SGD$74.00 (120ml)
Years of use : Since 2006

Read more of the Skincare 101 Series:

3 thoughts on “Skincare 101: My MUST HAVE Cleansers

Leave a Reply

