Skincare 107: My MUST HAVE Moisturizers

Moisturizer should always be the last step of your skincare regime as it serves to lock in everything else that you have applied beforehand. My numero uno juice for skin love is none other than Clinique‘s Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief. On the other end of the spectrum, I also love drugstore brand Garnier‘s Pure Long Lasting Shine Control Moisturizer. There’s something for all ages in today’s post!

Clinique‘s Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief

Light, comfortable cream/gel plumps skin with hydration for a full 24 hours.

Does this innocuous little pink jar really contain “skin love”? Based on my experiences so far, it’s a resounding yes. The first time I applied Moisture Surge to my skin, it instantly felt cool and hydrated. My skin texture immediately smoothened out to the touch, my super shiny T-zone became dewy instead of mirror-reflective – and even in humid Singaporean weather and it didn’t take eons to absorb.

One of my favourite things about Moisture Surge is its non-invasive texture. The texture of Moisture Surge is described as a ‘gel-creme’ – it is a soft translucent pink shade, water-based, not greasy, extremely lightweight and quickly absorbed. Unlike many other moisturisers, it doesn’t feel sticky or thick after application. Neither is it oily at all – although I do wake up with a shiny face fit to war with a disco ball if I pile it on the night before (more about this in another post). A very small amount goes a very long way as it spreads with ease, and instead of massaging it into the skin – frankly there’s no need for that, as it sinks into the skin very nicely with little effort on my part, I just use my fingertips to lightly and evenly apply it across the skin surface. I have combination skin so I go easy on my T-zone and gunk up  the U-zone. During the hot “summer” months, I use more of the next moisturizer on my list.

Interesting side note, it also holds makeup really well as a base – no powder sloughage even after a full work day! You can apparently use it over makeup too but I have yet to try that.

*Note: There are 2 very similar Clinique products. One being this which you just read about – which is suitable for all skin types. The other is Moisture Surge Intense Skin Fortifying Hydrator which is better for extremely dehydrated skin.

Price : SGD$74.00 (45ml)
Years of use : Since 2004

Garnier Pure Long Lasting Shine Control Moisturizer

Specially formulated for combination and oily skins that can be shiny.

This is a lovely daytime cream. In the tube it smells a little like cucumber, but when you apply to the skin you can start to smell the clay in it and it kind of feels like you’re putting on a face mask. It has the same tightening feel that you get when a clay face mask is drying but once it sinks in, your skin is left feeling very soft and mattified. It also works beautifully under makeup, acting a lot like a primer in the way it holds the makeup on.

In terms of shine control, this is a little crappy. It usually lasts about 3 hours before my T-zone becomes party central. Every where else is fine though. I guess it’s just me and my oily buddies 😦

Price : SGD$12.90 (75ml)
Years of use : Since 2006

This is NOT the last of my skincare series. I still have other MUST HAVES coming up in the next few days. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Skincare 107: My MUST HAVE Moisturizers

Leave a Reply

