La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL

This, is a very graphic and shocking reminder as to why sun protection is non-negotiable.

This 69 year old gentleman has been a truck driver for the past 28 years. Half of his face looks normal for his age, but because he spent daytime hours with the sun to his left for nearly three decades, the left side of his face looks decades older.

The name for his condition is unilateral dermatoheliosis (one-sided photoaging). Driving with the sun beating down on his face and arm exposed the dude to damaging UVA* rays for hours each day, just as if he had been lying on a beach with that skin exposed.

Understanding UVA (ultraviolet A) and UVB (ultraviolet B) as shared by Dr. Jean Ho
UVA – Less likely to cause sunburn than UVB rays, but they penetrate your skin more deeply.These are less likely to cause sunburn than UVB rays, but they penetrate your skin more deeply.

UVB – Responsible for tanning your skin, but they also cause sunburn. UVB rays are the main culprit when it comes to skin cancer. These rays also go through windows, and it doesn’t matter if it’s cloudy — you’re still at risk for exposure.


La Roche-Posay’s new range, Anthelios XL, offers extremely high UVA and UVB protection and comes in special formulate textures to suit any skin type and exposure. Their sunscreens range combine an effective and patented UV filtering system with optimal tolerance. It’s trusted and recognized by dermatologists worldwide for providing advanced formulations in sun protection.

Anthelios XL Dry Touch Gel-Cream

This claims to be instantly absorbed by skin, leaving no shine or white streaks. Which is EXCELLENT in my books. I’m a huge beach bum and have used countless bottles/tubes of sunscreen throughout the years and I hate the ones that leave me looking like I just got fondled by a chalk monster.

Launching a dermocosmetic sunscreen means that they have to take other factors into consideration. Dry Touch Gel-Cream also claims to have anti-shine and and ultra dry properties. We’ll see.

Streaky white……..

And gone!

It’s extremely smooth to apply and absorbs damn fast. This is definitely not as thick as most drugstore sunscreens and definitely zero white streaks. Living up to their dry touch promise, there’s almost a velvety feel to your skin once the lotion sets in. It’s kinda like you’ve put on some baby powder, without the whitish overcast. Pretty light and very easy to wear. The funny bit is that my fingers have leftover white streaks, which probably come from the corn starch they’ve added in for the soft feel.

I’m not too keen on the ultra matte finish though. It does seem to make my skin look a little dehydrated but all can be solved by slapping on some of my Clinique Moisture Surge.

I skipped my usual oil control products to test their anti-shine properties… and it’s not fantastic. My t-zone started secreting oil just under two hours. Oh well, oil blotters can clear up the mess anyway. Sun protection is more important.

Price: SGD $49.90 (50ml)

I have two other products from La Roche-Posay’s previously launched ranges to share with you here as they were also part of the review pack.

Thermal Spring Water

I like this very much!! I use this as a refreshing facial mist on the days when I’m super hot and super sticky. (There’s no review picture for this one because it’s damn impossible for me to get a one-handed shot of the mist when my tripod-aka-the-BF is  busy and unable to help me.)

Sometimes when I get uncomfortably warm, my face tends to get itchy and I find that this helps to soothe the irritation. According to the La Roche-Posay website, this is safe to use even on babies! I’ve been using this almost every time I go out and have taken to stashing it in my bag. It’s rather bulky though. I wonder if there is a handy travel bottle?

And apparently there’s a whole multitude of ways that this can be used:

I only just found this image so I’m gonna try to see if it will reduce itchiness when I get hives, and on the BF after he shaves. And after I go for facials. And some on my legs to see if it really softens.

The bad thing is, I have approximately 1/4 of the bottle left and I have no idea where to get more cos the stores nearest my place doesn’t carry this. Time to drop the distributor an email..

Price: SGD $20.90 (150ml)

Uvidea XL Melt-In BB Cream
Initially, I wasn’t too keen on trying this out cos I’m not a big fan of cream bases. But then I read the ingredient list and realised that this contains La Roche-Posay thermal spring water so I thought I’d give it a go.

This also has sunblock properties, as well as the standard skin tone unification and blemish coverage.
As with the Dry Touch Gel-Cream, this is a breeze to apply. It glides over skin like water off a duck’s back. There’s something really odd though. When I tested this on the back of my hand, some tiny fibers appeared. I thought it was because I already tested the sunscreen there earlier and it hadn’t set in properly, or it was just a hand thing.

But noooooo….. the same thing happened when I used it on my face. The best description would be comparing it to have used a cheapo cotton pad on your face and having microscopic fibers stuck to you. Or like I haven’t gone for a face wax job and all my little hairs are individually coated with BB cream. (Okay, Herine has the same problem. It’s not just me. Why are we both so problematic!?)

And I refused to take a face picture because this colour is wrong for me. I’m naturally tanned and Melt-in BB Cream in 01 makes me look like a gray zombie.
You can kinda imagine from this picture how different my face and neck colour would be were I to use this. I have to say that this is very light to wear though. Some BB creams make you feel clogged up but this doesn’t have that effect, even when worn with sunscreen, this BB cream and some loose powder.

A quick google check tells me that there are actually 2 colours for this in Japan.image_thumb162
I would have gone for 01 if this was my personal purchase since it looks darker. Weird. Oh well, my brother’s girlfriend gets a free tube of BB cream that comes with sun protection. She needs it – her 18 year old mind doesn’t understand the importance of prevention yet.

Price: SGD $49.90 (30ml)

This review consists of products from La Roche-Posay’s press event.

*

The #1 brand recommended by European dermatologists, La Roche-Posay is a skincare line offering efficacy in treating various skin conditions. Carefully formulated with the unique selenium-rich thermal spring water from the village, La Roche Posay, in central France, La Roche-Posay products are soothing and anti-irritating for the skin. Whether it is oily, dehydrated, sensitive, reactive, ageing or dry skin, there is a range of products specially suited for everyone.

La Roche-Posay products are available at all Watsons and Guardian stores in Singapore.

2 thoughts on “La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL

Leave a Reply

