Shopping at Daiso

Went to Daiso with the BF a few weeks ago to pick up some props for his work. Okay fine, he went to pick up work stuff and I tagged along cos I LOVE DAISO.

[For my foreign readers: Daiso is the largest franchise of 100-yen shops in Japan. They have a range of over 100,000 goods, of which over 40 percent are imported goods, many of them from China. Many of these are own-brand goods. Daiso sets itself apart from other 100 yen shops by choosing not to sell closeout or factory second merchandise. Instead, they keep prices low by purchasing directly from manufacturers in very high volume, a strategy often compared to that of Walmart. They now have many outlets in various countries.]

There’s sooooo many things in there and they all cost only $2! My bill used to be $80 – $100 each time I visit the store but I now practise some restrain and try not to spend more than $30. (He can tell you how full my basket was until I woke up and forced myself to put impulse buys back!)

The great thing ’bout this thrift store is that it sells a very wide variety of items from beauty to fashion to food to pet stuff. The even greater thing, as I was sharing with the BF, is that they sell weird contraptions that you never knew you needed until you see it. For example, during our trip there we chanced upon plastic tongs that are supposed to be used like chopsticks. This nifty tool is to be used for……. potato chips.

Seemingly useless until you think about it. Or if you are a PC gamer. Most of us gamers snack when we’re in very long raids or quests and greasy keyboards are a big no-no. Excellent for cuddling infront of the TV with your bf/gf and suddenly making out. Hey presto! Clean fingers!

Also has multi-function capabilities. No, I didn’t buy one.

Anyway, here’s what I got this time:

Soft toy for Tuppy, hell lot of double eye lid tape, 2 sets of travel kits, nail clipper. Total damage: $34

I always take every single piece of the eye lid tape when it’s in stock cos its by far the best in terms of value for money that I’ve tried. It’s one of those double side sticky kinds. The hold is very strong; can last for 12 hours if I don’t have any eye make up on, and about 9 if I have eyeshadow, eyeliner, etc on. Looks extremely natural too.When I look down, the “stuck” part looks like a natural double eyelid crease. Super flat, super thin and short but can withstand even days when I am secreting oil like a KFC chicken.

And why did I buy a nail clipper from Daiso when I could easily get a better one from beauty shops? No… the answer is not cos its $2 only. It is because…. I SELDOM SEE STRAIGHT CLIPPERS!!! A lot of clippers I see elsewhere are curved and it’s damn annoying for someone like me who likes to keep my nails square. I usually cut my nails (after soaking in water) with manicure scissors. You see you see! 180 degrees!!! *dances around happily*
So that’s it for a rare shopping loots post from me. Till the next one!

One thought on “Shopping at Daiso

Leave a Reply

