Vichy : The Normaderm Range

Judging by my header pic.. you can already tell that this is a super backlogged post? The hero product launched at the pop up store was Normaderm Hyaluspot, a fast acting anti-imperfection gel, so I waited for a zit to grow to review this product. Good for me – I had no pimples from June till August! (Not so good for Vichy though… sorry! I will attempt to put in more effort for this post.)

Their generous press kit came with five items, including the newly launched Normaderm Hyaluspot. To be honest, I was very happy to see the mini pastilles cos I can’t stop eating them at Vichy events.. hahaha.

A little background before I go into the review proper. Vichy Thermal Spa Water (also known as Lucas Water) is the core of all Vichy dermocosmetic formulations. Originating more than 2000 years ago in the heart of Auvergne’s volcanoes, and rich in beneficial minerals, this powerful beauty water has demonstrated its exceptional dermatological properties unceasingly over the years.

Normaderm Hyaluspot

Calling itself “your emergency weapon against pimples”, this product claims to eliminate 99.9% of bacteria from your spot within 2 hours and to make it disappear from 48 hours.

The danger of zits is that you subconsciously touch your face dozens of times every day without realizing it, and even more when a small pimple hurts. In making these insignificant gestures, you are adding to a bacterial over-contamination which leads to the formation of pimples, or the increased infection of an existing one. The bacteria carried on fingers are transferred to an already weakened skin, which is why isolation from the outside is instrumental to rapid healing.

Normaderm Hyaluspot contains 1% hyaluronic acid which forms an invisible film on the pimple and protects it from further contamination. This revolutionary bandage-like texture is complimented by the new generation cold applicator which soothes immediately and allows targeted application.

It really is a light weight gel that sits beautifully under make up. This also smells great – there is some kind of green tea-ish scent to it that is extremely pleasant. I believe this is the best smelling pimple care I have ever encountered. Application is accurate and enjoyable with the cold applicator and it dries close to instantly.

You know the kind of pimple that threatens to turn you into Rudolph? I put on a thin film on the dangerous and painful yellow headed zit peeping out from the side of my nose. I obviously can’t tell if it got rid of 99.9% of bacteria within two hours since germs are microscopic but in eight hours, the spot disappeared and never came back. There was also no swelling or pain left behind. Impressive!

My one complain about Normaderm Hyaluspot would be that it dried up the area where I applied this. Like, seriously dry and scabby. Perhaps the sides of our noses are a somewhat sensitive area and doesn’t take to being a defeated battle field well. Or perhaps it’s just me. Whichever way, this worked.

Price : SGD $29.90 (15ml)

Normaderm 3 in 1 Micellar Solution

Paraben and alcohol free, this is the ideal cleanser for imperfection-prone and sensitive skin but I have been using this as a make up remover instead. Its micellar technology catches make-up and impurities without rubbing or rinsing, which makes it perfect for inflamed skin.

I really don’t recommend not washing your face if you have had a whole shit load of cosmetics on your face though.

I apologize for scaring you with a close up of my large pored, fine lined skin and ungroomed brows. (Does anyone have a good skincare to recommend for large pores? I need one. Desperately!)

What’s on my eye: a little bit of brow powder, K-Palette’s 1 DayTattoo Eyeliner and Eyepencil, about 3 coats of Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara, mascara primer, highlighter and contour.

The cotton pad on the right is from one swipe. It pretty much dislodged all my make up, including the water/smudge proof eyeliner. I had to go about two more times to erase the mascara.

The beauty of this is that while it’s effective, it doesn’t require brute strength to remove your potentially stubborn make up. All I needed was less than one cotton pad (as seen above) to clean up my eye area. The sensitive skin there also feels nice and moisturized after I use this.

Price : SGD $29.00 (200ml)

Normaderm Tri-activ anti-imperfection hydrating care

This also smells like a dream, very similar to Hyaluspot but without the green tea bit. As a moisturizer for me, it’s not quite what I am looking for, or used to. My skin is regularly drenched in masks or my Laneige/Clinique creams so most other moisturizers don’t give enough hydration. I would use this during the unreasonably hot days of the year though.

Absorption is an absolute breeze and there is zero oily feel to this. Your skin will be left nicely scented and matte looking. Since all Vichy products are formulated for sensitive skin, I highly recommend people with inflamed skin to try this out.

Price : SGD $19.00 (30ml)

Thermal Spa Water

As mentioned in my opening paragraphs, this is the key ingredient in all Vichy products. Vichy Thermal Spa Water has been recognized for its remarkable soothing, fortifying and regenerating properties, as shown by 34 tests, on over 600 people of all skin types, even very sensitive skin.

After removing your make-up and before your daily skincare routine, hold 30 cm away from your face and spray onto clean skin. It can also be used to help set your make-up or refresh the skin at any time of the day. There’s nothing amazing about this – it does what it says. It’s a refreshing pick-me-up on a sunny day and can be used over make up.

The nozzle on mine is a tad retarded and drips whenever I use it so I thought it was bad luck but I’ve read quite a few reviews on complains about the nozzle so you might want to get a smaller 50ml bottle at SGD $9.90 incase you’re left with a broken spray and have to discard any remaining Thermal Spa Water.

Price : SGD $29.90 (300ml)

Vichy Mini Pastilles

Okay, okay… I put this in for fun. It’s not exactly skincare unless you wanna believe in the whole you-are-what-you eat school of thought. Made with Vichy Thermal Spa Water, they also have all the goodness that goes into their skin care formulations. These tasty mints are unfortunately not available in Singapore.

*

Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot and all other products reviewed in this post (except the mint pastilles) are available island wide at all personal care stores and supermarkets which carry Vichy products.

These products were in the press kit from Vichy’s pop-up store event.

3 thoughts on “Vichy : The Normaderm Range

Leave a Reply

