Chanel Les Beiges

I’ve been doing quite a bit of catch up lately, just proves how lazy I have been in up-keeping my blog! Remember this from June this year? The birthday post which I wrote and promised to blog about the two Chanel Les Beiges products in the picture below.
To recap, I got them as the door gift from Chanel Cruise 2013/2014. I didn’t do this sooner cos they weren’t launched in Singapore yet and I had no idea where to get their pricing from.

Inspired by the passion for freedom of Gabrielle Chanel, the Chanel Makeup Creation Studio has designed Les Beiges, a new spirit of makeup that is simple and intuitive. Free like a breath of fresh air. Spontaneous like the perfect getaway. Enveloping like a caress of light.
Les Beiges reveal the healthy glow of each woman and provide a sensation of lightness, well-being and freshness.

Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Powder SPF 15/PA++

The Healthy Glow Sheer Powder features the iconic Chanel compact case, dressed for the first time in beige, the timeless and exclusive beige that Gabrielle Chanel loved so much. Its big mirror, with a larger inclination angle, and its half-moon powder brush made of natural bristles make application even easier.

The fine, lightweight and antioxidant powder shields the skin from environmental stress and sunlight thanks to its SPF 15 / PA++ sun filter. Its ultra-protective formula, enriched with cotton flower and white rose plant cells, becomes one with the skin to soothe it better. It is gentle on all skin, even the most sensitive.

It is one of the most widely marketed cosmetic product I have ever seen. By widely, I mean product usage and not location. This sheer powder can be used as a:

  • Pressed powder
  • Loose powder
  • Highlighter
  • Contour powder
  • Bronzer
  • Blush

It’s kinda mind boggling that a simple compact can be used to set the foundation for your entire face but truth is, there are 7 shades released. I totally forgot to take a pic of the beautiful case, but you’ll see it in the following image of all 7 tones in the collection.I believe most Chinese Asians would be No. 20 or No. 30. I’m in between, but 30 is better for me as I’m tanner than the regular girl. Worn alone over some moisturizer or sunscreen, healthy glow sheer powder does exactly what it’s named for. It really gives my skin a summery sun kissed base that is perfect for a dab of lipgloss and two licks of blusher for an au naturale look.

There is an accompanying kabuki brush (more on this later) that you can use to buff this in for heavier coverage but sheer as this is, you’ll likely need a new compact every month to supply your demand.

I haven’t purchased the other shades (I own a No. 20) but I had the opportunity to  swatch them. I found out that No. 10 and No. 70 are perfect as a highlight and contour combo, and a mixture of No. 50 and No. 60 works well as a natural blush flush for me. Of course, I had to be extremely heavy handed when it came to contouring the sides of my nose.

Scent wise, there is a delicate floral smell that makes me think that some perfume might be used in the ingredients. The half moon brush that it comes with strangely follows the planes of  your face when you use it as a loose powder so that’s fantastic. It’s not great for people with oily skin – your powder disappears pretty quickly and warrants hourly top-ups.

Being Chanel, this is definitely not cheap and most of us middle income girls would think twice before making a purchase. Do you need it? Probably not. There are other stuff out there that could do the job, albeit not as silken as this one is.

Do you want it? That’s a different matter entirely. Just look at it for heaven’s sake.

Price : SGD $80.00

Les Beiges Retractable Kabuki Brush

Hands down, this is THE finest and softest brush I have ever used.  Its incredible density makes it ideal to take powder and apply it precisely it to the skin. The result is an impeccable, perfectly smooth and even makeup finish.

Imagine waking up to puppies or kittens brushing their lovely baby fur on your face.. that’s what this brush feels like with application. I have a Hakuhodo brush which is one of the softest out in the market right now but Chanel has rewritten the entire definition of soft with this kabuki brush.

Like every other retractable brush, washing this is a pain in the ass. Plus the bristles are light coloured so it stains on every first use. Point yourself in the direction of the nearest Chanel counter and just run your fingers over this. Then tell me you don’t want this.

Price : SGD $74.00

2 thoughts on “Chanel Les Beiges

Leave a Reply

