[11 Nov 2013] Manicure Monday

Last week, I shared with you the 2 biggest misconceptions about getting rid of nail polish stains so today will be about how to prevent them.

1. The obvious

A base coat can actually be a nail polish addict’s best friend, providing you with the nourishment your nails need to avoid becoming dry and brittle. Or at the very least, protect from staining. Having a layer between your nails and tough glitter polishes also makes your life that much easier when it comes to removing them.

2. The less obvious

Polishes might glide over a base coat much more easily than on the nail alone but for those of you with nails prone to ridges and waviness, you can purchase Ridge Filler base coats to help smooth over the contours for a glossy, uniform finish. Saves you from color filled gouges too.

3. Home made therapy

Some swear by citrus juice but it has never worked for me, unless I go the hammer and chisel routine. I generally have to scrape off several layers of my nails before they get less yellow. Might as well just buff then, rather than soaking my nails in lemon juice.

My preferred method is with bicarbonate soda, also known as baking soda. Most people mix the powder into a paste with hydrogen peroxide but I do it with just water. I find the solution too drying to my cuticles. You will need to pile on the paste thickly and leave it on for about 5 to 10 minutes then wash it off. Then, gently use a soft brush to clean your nails. Both ingredients are easily available at pharmacies (for hydrogen peroxide) and supermarkets (for baking soda).

Important tip: Always, ALWAYS moisturize after.

4. Toothpaste

Not as drying as baking soda, but not as effective either.

I’ve tried a lot of toothpaste brands and Sensodyne is the one that works best, for me at least. Slap on a thick layer of undiluted paste on your nails and follow the exact same steps as the baking soda.

Yes, moisturize after too.

5. Fight fire with fire

As usual, my friends don’t believe me when I bust out my unconventional beauty tips. Truly, the easiest way to remove yellow stains from nails is to…. paint your nails again.

Just a coat of nude/nude-ish color, leave it for under a minute and remove immediately. This works wonders for slightly yellowed nails. Use this method first, combined with any of the other ways above to whiten your nails.

Trust me, I’ve been doing this for years.

3 thoughts on “[11 Nov 2013] Manicure Monday

  1. Shikin says:

    Hi! Would you like to win Whisper COSMO pad box for free? Head over to blogspot now for an awesome giveaway, only for the first 50. 🙂

Leave a Reply

