L’Oreal Super Liner Blackbuster

What: L’Oreal Super Liner Blackbuster, an intense graphic eyeliner with striking black pigment. An error proof, smooth guide, easy to use marker pen.
Why: Pigment that lasts for 8 hours. Inspired to re-create a catwalk look, with the thickest liner yet. The innovative “black ink formula” creates a striking bold look, which lasts. The formula also enables an easy to apply and remove application.

What I think: Definitely shockingly thick. Surprisingly easy to control and would be a good starting point for eyeliner newbies. Colour payout is disappointing but buildable with many coats. Does last a full day out but smudges and bleeds at wrinkly areas. Removal is dependent on remover and strength used.
Rating: 3.5*/5*

Where: Available at all places where L’Oreal products are sold.

Price: SGD$20.90

I couldn’t tell the difference if you wrapped up a marker pen and this. It looks like a marker, feels like a marker, has a tip like a marker but thankfully doesn’t smell like one. I think it smells like Dior’s Backstage mascara – a little bitter chocolatey. A size comparison between Blackbuster and K-Palette:

Despite it’s giganto tip, this goes from thick to thin to wing tip relatively easily for someone who has some practice with eyeliners. For eyeliner virgins, they probably wouldn’t get the jerky disjointed lines that often occur due to fear, dry liners or bad brush designs. This goes on extremely smoothly and would be a joy to use if the colour payout was good. I expected something called Blackbuster to give me a deep black within two strokes but sadly this failed to live up to the mark. Of course, you could build up the colour but that would involve extra time in the morning spent sleeping.

What you see above is about 4 – 5 layers of Blackbuster. And some minor photo editing for contrast. Herine took a pic of my eye when we were at the event so I now have the weird pleasure to credit her for her picture when it’s my eye =.= I was already wearing K-Palette for about 6 hours prior to this picture and one coat of Blackbuster comes out as brown, instead of black on my tanned skin. (Read Herine’s take on Blackbuster here.)

My favourite thing about this L’Oreal Super Liner Blackbuster marker pen wannabe? It’s also fantastic for people like me who have typical Asian hooded monolids and need to draw on about an inch of liner as opposed to normal folks’ 2mm.

I use up one and a half eyeliners every month when I have a full time job. Not joking, I’m totally serious here. My lid folds under and back into my eye for about 2.5mm so I need extremely thick eyeliner for anything to be seen at all.

You see? On the right (your right, my left eye) is the amount normal girls put on for pretty lined eyes. For me, I need panda eyes. That thick line blob doesn’t even show up very well when I open my eyes.

I really do like this very much for the convenience I get when I apply eyeliner. Definitely something I would purchase again.

*

This product was sponsored by L’Oreal Singapore.

2 thoughts on “L’Oreal Super Liner Blackbuster

  1. Pingback: Review: L’oreal Paris Super Liner Blackbuster Intense | Croina's Blog

Leave a Reply

