L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Dermalift

What: L’Oreal’s follow up to Revitalift Laser X3 the all new L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Dermalift Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Powered with Centella Asiatica.
Why: With time, age leaves traces on the skin that gets harder and harder to repair. And more often than not, these aging signs are more than what meets the eye. Inspired by the self-healing process, L’Oréal laboratories selected Centella Asiatica, renowned for its repairing properties, for a new anti-aging care. The potent combination of anti-aging actives repair, regenerate and fight the signs of aging from within.

What I think: I only used this for about 14 days (one face, many products to review problems!), but my mom did the whole 28 days shebang so the opinions in this piece are largely hers. I personally thought this held its own against the Laser X3 as I’ve had dry eye area problems when I test out other brands. My hydration level didn’t diminish at all although there wasn’t much anti-wrinkle or regeneration effects. Mom on the other hand, liked this range very much. She reported some plumping and radiance, as well as disappearing fine lines. Note: We reviewed 3 products only – Intensive Repair Essence, Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Night Cream and Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Eye Cream.
Rating: 3.5*/5*

Where/when: In stores from January 2014 at all Watsons, Guardian Pharmacies, SASA, selected department stores, supermarkets and hypermarkets.

Price: Milky Cleansing Foam 125ml $12.90, Anti-Aging + Firming Aqua Milky Toner 175ml $19.90, Intensive Repair Essence 30ml $45.90, Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Day Cream 50ml $32.90, Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Night Cream 50ml $32.90, Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Eye Cream 15ml $29.90

In late 2012/early 2013, I had the opportunity to try out L’Oreal’s “laser in a jar” – Revitalift Laser X3 and… I’m still regularly using the eye cream! Out of my own pocket okay… not sponsored. I really really like the eye cream. And thanks to L’Oreal, I’ve been instore with them twice as an ambassador!

This time around, they sent a pretty box of goodies for me to play with The L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Dermalift Intensive Repair Essence, Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Night Cream and Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Eye Cream. The new range contains 3 active ingredients: Powerful DERMALIFT Technology conceived to help retighten the skin by re-plumping it, PRO-RETINOL A, known for stimulating cell renewal to thicken the epidermis* to reduce wrinkles and CENTELLA ASIATICA*, known to help improve skin’s density and plumpiness.

*Centella Asiatica*
Also commonly known as Gotu Kola, grows in Asia and belongs to the Apiaceae family. It is a tasteless, odourless plant that thrives in and around water. It has small fan-shaped green leaves with white or light purple-to-pink or white flowers and it bears small oval fruit.
In India, it has the nickname of Tiger Grass because wounded tigers are known to roll themselves on the herb to treat their injuries. And in Traditional Chinese Medicine, Centella Asiatica is recognized for its long history of wide-ranging medical applications.
For hundreds of years, Centella Asiatica has been a traditional remedy for skin conditions, wounds, burns and bruises because of its ability to increase the synthesis of collagen, renew collagen related to weakened connective tissues and prevent scar tissue formation by slowing down excessive collagen production. This in turn restores tissue firmness and skin elasticity, improving skin appearance and comfort. It also improves the elasticity of newly formed skin and inhibits scarring.
The main components in Centella Asiatica are four triterpenes, namely madecassoside, asiaticoside, madecassic acid and asiatic acid, which are responsible for stimulating collagen synthesis in the fibroblast. Apart from increasing collagen activity, they increase the tensile strength of the newly formed skin, furthering the healing of the wounds. Centella Asiatica has also known to inhibit the inflammatory process which may provoke scar tissue formation and improve the flow of blood throughout the body by strengthening the veins and capillaries.

Revitalift Milky Cleansing Foam

Immediately, skin is clean and purified. Skin texture is refined. After 4 weeks, skin texture is smoother as if it has been renewed, and skin quality is improved. The soft and rich milky, creamy texture lathers abundantly in contact with water, delivering a gentle and warm sensation. Rinses off easily and leaves skin comfortable.

Revitalift Anti-Aging + Firming Aqua Milky Toner

Immediately, skin feels softer, smoother, freshened up and retightened. Within 4 weeks, skin progressively regains its firmness and fine lines look reduced. Face contours looks more defined and skin looks younger. Its aqua-milky texture melts instantly, leaving a bouncy sensation on skin.

Revitalift Intensive Repair Essence

Yay finally I get to say something instead of copy and pasting from my press release. (Oh, my manicure is from here, if you’re interested.) A couple of overall things to note before I go into my review proper though.

  1. I much prefer the scent of this series as compared to Laser X3. Very delicate and flowery. Makes me happy to smell it!
  2. To repeat: my mom used this more than I did.
  3. Mom’s a L’Oreal fan. Her cleansing foam, pre-essence, toner and day moisturizer are all L’Oreal so this might have contributed to her general results since they’re from the same brand.

We both liked this, her more than me. Its an extremely lightweight liquid that absorbs quickly and does somewhat leave a slight glowy sheen behind. I’m not sure if its immediate effect or to several gold flake looking things I found in my bottle. This didn’t leave a “boing-boing” texture to my skin but did on my mom. Maybe cos I use way more products than she does?

Revitalift Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Day Cream

Immediately, skin feels moisturized and fresh. Skin texture looks refined and complexion looks more even and fairer with healthy radiance. Within 4 weeks, face regains its firmness, wrinkles are visibly reduced, dark spots appear reduced and skin looks younger. The light creamy texture glides onto skin, leaving the skin smooth without greasy feeling.

Revitalift Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Night Cream

Its just that little bit too heavy for our liking.

We found that warming this up makes it penetrate better/faster but there’s still a slight sticky film left behind. Strangely enough, this night cream made me fairer instantly. My skin tone is darker than normal (naturally) and I could see the difference between my face and neck after I put this on. For mom, she thought her skin looked like she had collagen injections. We both saw tremendous results on her forehead and cheeks. Her skin there radiated like nobody’s business and looked mildly tighter.

Revitalift Anti-Wrinkle + Firming Eye Cream

Heh here comes a roundabout – I liked this and she didn’t. My benchmark for eye cream is Laser X3 and this was a serious competitor against it.

Mom uses a luxury brand on her eyes so this might have fallen short due to the different ingredients in the products. The one she uses currently is extremely rich and causes clogged pores for me but works perfect for her as her office desk is straight in the path of the aircon vent and majorly dries out the top half of her face. For me at least, I would finish using this when I’m done with my Laser X3.

Its slightly thicker than what I use now but still absorbs quickly with no grease. Bonus point – smells great!

All in all, mom is happy with the L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Dermalift series and thinks that her skin is tauter and definitely more radiant. I noticed some slight lifting effects along her jowls and nasolabial folds but she claims no difference. She’s still happily using the essence and night cream though, so I guess she likes this.

*

In stores from January 2014 at all Watsons, Guardian Pharmacies, SASA, selected department stores, supermarkets and hypermarkets.

These products were sponsored by L’Oreal Singapore.

One thought on “L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Dermalift

Leave a Reply

