BLACK PAINT by Myyuki Review


What: BLACK PAINT is an organic skincare brand established in Kyoto 15 years ago by Myyuki Maeda. She studied modern physiology and bacteriology as well as traditional natural healing systems around the world to save her daughter from an incurable disease. The pore care range is truly born from a mother’s love.
Why: BLACK PAINT skincare products are made from natural, organic materials which are blended from more than 100 types of plant oils, more than 50 types of essential oils, Kishu Bichotan Charcoal that suitable for various skin and body parts. Their iconic Black Soap sold more than one million units in Japan in year 2012. They’ve also won the Grand Gold Medal of Monde Selection Award Winner (a globally-renowned award runs by International Institute for Quality Selections, Belgium that evaluate quality of each product and grant them quality label) for consecutively 5 years since 2009 under the category of Cosmetics & Toiletries in Japan.

What I think: I love the brand history. And many of my blogger peers have sung praises of Black Soap but unfortunately, I belong in the minority where it doesn’t really work for me. Everything else works fine though. Water Cream is surprisingly fantastic as a moisturizer for my dehydrated skin. Konjac Sponge is also a pretty nifty exfoliating tool. All in all, I think this is a great range for people with normal/combination skin but not too ideal for someone like me with extremely dry skin.
Rating: 3*/5*

Where: Isetan at Westgate Mall
Price: From SGD$14.90 to $79.90

From what I’m seeing… I think I got a different package from my blogger friends? My friends like Herine, Mag & Elaine all got their Black Paint products in a pretty box but mine didn’t, and there’s a slight variation of products too.

Mine includes a Black Paint cup which is a GODSEND (more on that later), two smaller bars of Black Paint Soap and specially made sheets for masking with Best Water. Packaging wise, they’ve stayed true to their organic concept cos their boxes are crude, but effective.

Initially I was all excited to start on this Black Paint range cos every blogger I’ve spoken to have sung praises of Black Soap. It’s not an easy thing to use though.

You need 2 additional tools – a dish/cup to immerse the bar and a dish/container to keep it after. I’m not too keen on an open tray though. Most of us leave our cleansers in the toilet so just imagine the amount of germs. EWW much?

This is a huge pain in the ass to use cos the consistency becomes sludge after it ‘melts’. Its way easier to handle if you cut up the bar into smaller pieces and store the unused pieces in a cool dry place. There’s a little too much wastage if you start with a full size bar. Takes quite a bit longer to dry out too.

Yeah.. this is what it looks like. I seriously dislike the smell of this. I thought it would just smell charcoal-ly but there’s a strong ammonia stench to it that is unpleasant. And DO NOT get this into your eyes, stings like a bitch!

Black Soap removed my light makeup quite effectively but left my skin feeling uncomfortably dry even after using the rest of the range. For the first week, I put it down to my skin adapting to a new product but my skin doctor told me that whatever I was using was drying my skin out horribly. I did a systematic product test and found out that I’m not suitable for Black Soap. Oh why am I always not suited for using organic products?

Price: $49.90 (120g)

This one, I like very much! Its called Konjac Sponge and this is the Black Paint version of an exfoliator. You see, Black Soap is actually formulated to seep into your pores and push out the impurities so you’ll probably see comedones sticking out of your pores after you have rinsed your face. Which explains why you shouldn’t scrub or rub the charcoal mix off.

Konjac Sponge has a fibrous surface that catches the exposed nasty gunk that have been forced out and yanks them out of your skin. Its very gentle on my face and I’ll totally get another piece when this one disintegrates.

Price: $15.00

Next step is their toner call Best Water.

I didn’t find anything overly special about this toner – works like any other toner. This does absorb really well though. It can also be used as a mask for those with irritated skin, redness, or emerging pimples. The sheet mask that I was given has a plastic backing which prevents the sheet from drying out unnecessarily.

Price: $59.90

Frankly, this one scared me. Can you just see how much oil there is in Oil Water Rose Essence! But after reading the ingredients, (ROSA DAMASCENA FLOWER WATER, OLIVE FRUIT OIL, ARGANIA SPINOSA KERNEL OIL, ROSA DAMASCENA FLOWER OIL, CRANBERRY SEED OIL, ROSE FLOWER OIL, ADONIS PALAESTINA FLOWER EXTRACT, SUNFLOWER SEED OIL, ROSA CANINA FRUIT OIL) I realised that the oils are natural oils that shouldn’t be too harmful to my skin.

Roses are known to heal and rejuvenate skin and this one does its job quite satisfactorily. The scent is super gorgeous but I find it a little tiresome to be vigorously shaking the bottle every time I apply this.

And to answer everybody’s concern – Oil Water Rose only looks oily. There’s not much of a greasy feel upon application.

Price: $49.90

And the last of Black Paint by Myyuki – Water Cream. In my point of view this is the hero product.

First up, brownie points for a spatula with its own lock in space! I cannot reiterate enough how unhygienic finger dipping is and most other brands that come with spatulas don’t have an area for you to safe-keep the instrument.

The moisturizing properties of this are pretty good but does leave an unexpected waxy film that I don’t like.

I say unexpected because this Water Cream turns to… water with application. I expected this to be super light and refreshing but although it absorbs well, the waxy feel stays for hours. On the bright side, this one has a wonderful relaxing scent.

Price: $79.90

Black Paint products are supposed to be used as a whole for a minimum of 28 days to see the best products and I duly did my duty but sadly, Black Soap kinda spoilt my experience. I had flaky skin on my forehead, chin and sides of my nose for up to 3 weeks before I switched it out for my regular cleanser. Everything was fine after that but of course I didn’t get the wonderful results that my blogger peers did.

Chances are, the Black Paint range would be pretty awesome for anyone else who doesn’t test different skin care products every 2 months (and you think being a beauty blogger is all fun?). Herine reviewed this as well, so her take on Black Paint is over here.

*

These products were sponsored by Black Paint Singapore.

One thought on “BLACK PAINT by Myyuki Review

  1. Mandy Liu says:

    I actually went to their road show at Takashimaya (I think) once and while I don’t hate or love this range of skin care, I could not bring myself to tolerate the sales promoters.

    I expect better Customer Service from a Japanese brand and Japanese Citizens are reknowned for their courtesy and politeness. I was served by an Asian man, possibly local, who tried damn hard to upsell me the products. Needless to say, I left without a single purchase even though I was ready to get their trial kit.

    The moral of this story: Don’t upsell someone who already is in line to pay.

Leave a Reply

