Merry Christmas 2015!

Once again, its my favourite time of the year. It seems like yesterday when it was 1st January 2015, and then I blinked and here we are at December again. There’s so much to love about this time of the year. Pretty sparkly decorations, delectable delicacies, happier people all around and most importantly – a little something I always do for myself at year end!

When I turned 18, I purchased my very first luxury bag at Rue Cambon on Christmas Day as a reward for all those times I had to deal with difficult passengers. I was a flight stewardess back then and it was almost regulation for all trolley dollies to own a Chanel 2.55. Its been more then a decade but I still remember the heady rush as my beautiful new bag was packaged into the iconic box embossed with the camellia. I recall very gingerly undoing the ribbons back in my hotel room and taking a deep breath just to get a whiff of that wonderful leather smell. I didn’t know it then but that Christmas was the start of an extravagant tradition – I bought myself something luxurious every single December from then on.

Of course my lonely bag gained new friends in the next few years. I started added staple must-haves like Louboutin heels, Hermès CDC bracelets, various small leather goods, so on and so forth. They were rather expensive years. It felt like I had unleashed a brand conscious monster. If an item wasn’t leather and didn’t come from a reputable House or have its own name, I didn’t see it worth owning. Everything on the must-have list under ten grand, I bought. Gucci Bamboo, YSL Muse, Louis Vuitton Neverfull, Chloe Paddington… My bag storage read like a who’s who of fashion. I would scour magazines and websites for the next IT bag to have.

I finally slowed down when I realised that I kinda lost the meaning of my reward gift. It was supposed to be symbolic and not a rampage of lets-buy-what-Hollywood-stars-are-carrying! Five years into my tradition, I brought home two of my favourite bags – a Mulberry Bayswater and an Alexa. I bought them to use, and not to show off. My Oak Bayswater is currently right beside me on my desk though I’ve traded in the original Alexa for a casual blue model awhile back.

It wasn’t always bags and shoes that I was after though. Some years I invested in Rolexes and Panerais, in other years I put in money into jewelry meant to pass to down my children some day. Currently, the Mister and I are wearing one of my Christmas perks. I got us a pair of Bvlgari’s inaugural Save The Children rings. I had always wanted one of the Eternity rings but kept getting waylaid by Cartier instead. The chance came when I saw the chunky silver rings that would compliment the Misters’ bear-like paw he calls a hand. When I found out that I would be doing a good deed (ahem) as well as get us presents plus fulfill my yearly to-do tradition, I brandished my card so fast it must have gotten whiplash. I found out later that the ring was created to celebrate Bvlgari’s 125 years anniversary with a meaningful campaign. “Save The Children ‘Rewrite The Future’” is still in existence and aims to provide education and thus a better future to millions of children suffering from the consequences of war and conflict. 20% of all ring sales go to the project.

In recent years, my income has significantly increased so my choice playground has vastly improved too. For my big three-o celebration last year, I splurged and finally got my hands on a landmark icon. It hurt my wallet a little but I have no regrets about paying a small fortune for an Hermès Birkin. I waited for 2 long years and every single minute was worth the wait. The unboxing felt like my first 2.55. That being said, it is an awfully heavy bag for daily use but I still grin, bear it and lug it around like a lovestruck fool most days.

This year, I knew in May what would be this Christmas’ wishlist. I was shopping around for a large and quirky bag since I favour dressing in all black and needed show piece to pull my outfits together. A fellow bagaholic pointed me towards Fendi’s Monster collection. It was love at first sight.

I’m not too sure how I didn’t notice all these gorgeousness before (actually I was recovering from my second Birkin purchase) but I sure am aware of them now. Coincidentally, I’ll be off to Europe till January so I’ll probably pick up three pieces in Italy. I’ll try my best to avoid spending too much time meandering around Kaufhaus des Westons so my damage can be contained.

Here’s wishing you a Merry Christmas!

This article first appeared on Channel News Asia.

Leave a Reply

