Fabulous Flight Essentials

Its a given – high altitudes and dry cabin air can drain the most supple of us and leave us looking like dried up hags by the time we land. It’ll be even worse if you’re in for a long-haul flight, you may turn into a peeling onion.

With the limitation of fitting in all your beauty saviors into a ziplock bag (and keeping to the 100ml maximum to boot), what exactly should one bring to look Hollywood-ready off an actual runway?

  1. Moisturizer

Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream Skin Protectant isn’t something that I use in Singapore (too sticky for my liking) BUT this legendary award winning classic is a total godsend while on vacay in colder/drier places. There are an infinite number of ways to use this classic cream, but here are 8 great ones:

  • SKIN SAVER – Protect skin from drying wind, central heating and air conditioning. This skincare multi-tasker soothes, restores, calms and helps relieve minor skin irritations, including roughness, redness, chapped, cracked or dry skin.
  • SHINE FACTOR – Found in top makeup artists’ kits worldwide, this all-in-one beauty tool adds shine to eyelids, cheeks, lips and legs.
  • EYE OPENER – All it takes is a dab to smooth eyebrows and create a perfectly defined arch that will stay in place all day.
  • CUTICLE CONDITIONER – Soften rough, dry cuticles to keep them smooth, supple and beautifully manicured.
  • TREAT FOR FEET – Smooth rough heels and soften soles for barefoot beauty in every season.
  • WEATHER SOOTHER – With its legendary soothing and moisturizing benefits, it’s the ideal after-sun treatment to relieve minor sunburn and calm dry, irritated sun-exposed skin, or windburn/windchills.
  • FLIGHT TOOL – Flying can leave skin looking and feeling dry and uncomfortable. Pack this intensive hydrator to boost skin’s in-flight moisture level wherever you go.
  • LEG WEAR – Great for an après shave or après wax treatment. This classic cream calms irritation, reduces redness and leaves legs super-smooth and silky-soft.

2. Dry Shampoo & Conditioner

Everybody knows about Batiste Dry Shampoo and how awesome it is plumping up greasy hair. We all get flat and oily-looking tresses on airplanes because of the low humidity so your follicles work extra hard to produce oil to keep things properly moisturized. The shampoo will absorb the oil, and the conditioner will add shine and softness until your next hair wash.

3. Wipes

I’ve said before that wipes are an essential part to my regime so there’s no way I would leave them out on a trip. My go-to brand is Nivea for their affordability, texture and how easily available they can be found locally.

While I don’t need to exfoliate on a plane, I like bringing along the exfoliating wipes so I can kind of use them as a “shower” when I feel grimy.

4. Eye drops

Yet another important necessity – why would you care for your skin but not your eyes? I always have terribly irritated eyes and I keep rubbing them so moisture for my corneas are vital. (I have the onset of keratoconus so its always uncomfortable for me no matter where I am.)

I like using Rohto – the Tabasco of eye drops – cos they are just about the only one to immediately get rid of red eyes. Just a few seconds of menthol in exchange for hours of fresh eyes.

5. Blotters

To be honest, oil blotters do nothing. The appeal is in the satisfaction of visually seeing the oil that was once on your skin transferred onto the blotter. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to control your oil production – wiping it off is just a natural reaction.

I use blotters to keep my make up looking fresh though. I have oily lids so my eyeliner tends to smudge or congeal so these are helping me keep my eyes looking less like pandas.

Leave a Reply

