Starting 2017 Right in 7 Simple Steps

Super click-bait title, but hey, you clicked!

I don’t know about you but I’m still a pen and paper girl. I need to write stuff down onto preferably prettified paper before I can digest any information. I do still have an electronic calendar but its so much more fun to jot down meetings and reminders into my book, and then draw silly little pictures just to entertain myself.

So how should one get started?

1. FIND A NOTEBOOK & SOME MULTI-COLOURED PENS, STICKERS, WASHI TAPE, ETC

Or even stencils, photographs, postcards. Whatever makes you happy.

*

2. LEGEND

If you, like me, have a terrible memory – YOU NEED THIS.

Colour coding is an awfully simple way of knowing how much fun you are getting in a week in a glance.

*

3. INDEX

Rejoice, ye OCD people. There’s a handy section to tell you where’s what.

*

4. FUTURE LOG

Note down all your BBF’s birthdays, special anniversaries, long weekends and public holidays so you know when you can plan a party.

*

5.  DAILY/WEEKLY PLANNER

Figure out how you want the most used portion of  your journal to be. It can be as complicated or as simple as you want.

Personally, I like to see all 7 days, and my week must start on a Sunday. Which is also why I dislike buying journals off the shelf cos most of them start on Monday.

*

6. FINANCING

I don’t have this page since I keep my accounts electronically, but it could be useful for those who are saving up for something special.

*

7. BLANK SPACES

This section in my journal is bursting with random ideas that pop into my head at the weirdest times. I can’t always make sense of them (because I scribble them down in doctor’s handwriting) but one might possibly find a gem or two in there.

So there you have it, a cheat sheet for doing up your very own journal, and its always fun to look back on them once the year has ended.

Leave a Reply

