Natural Herbal Hair Care at Tip Toe Nails & Hair Spa

(Image for reference only)

If you are grossed out by people not bathing properly every day… I would suggest you not read this post because it involves me not washing my hair for an unreasonable number of days. You have been warned.

According to my hairstylist, I have a terrible scalp. And I don’t need her to tell me that I have dandruff.

BUT.

In my own defense, the exact cause of dandruff, also known as scurf or pityriasis simplex capillitii is unknown. However, most experts do agree that dandruff is not caused by poor hygiene. So its NOT I dirty okay!

Dandruff is a condition of the scalp that causes flakes of skin to appear. It is a common condition, which can be marked by itching. In some cases it can be embarrassing and not easy to treat.

Some causes of dandruff are:

  1. Not enough hair brushing
  2. Yeast
  3. Dry skin
  4. Seborrheic dermatitis (irritated, oily skin)
  5. Not enough shampooing
  6. Certain skin conditions
  7. Some illnesses (Parkinson’s or neurological illnesses)
  8. Reaction to hair or skin care products
  9. Malassezia (a fungus that lives on everybody’s scalp but can occasionally grow out of control)
  10. Diet (lack of zinc or Vitamin B)
  11. Mental stress
  12. HIV (over 10% of people have seborrheic dermatitis)

What contributes to the sad state of my scalp is a combination of not brushing, not enough shampooing and different parts are over oily/over dry.

So when Herine very kindly wrangled a hair sponsorship for me, of course I go lah. Free one mah and I’m kinda sick of snowing when I shake my head, plus I have 3 very obvious patches of dry scalp along my hairline. Also because the dry scalp issue has been bleeding cos I itchy hand keep picking at it.

Tip Toe Nails & Hair Spa very obviously is not just a hair place but I’ll separate my nails into another post. They have been around for a little while now and from what I understand, they have a steady stream of repeat customers who visit them for this herbal hair care.

When I was there, I did see two folks step in for their session so me + Herine + 2 other people just about full house-ed their entire salon area.

Connie the owner (for whom I had to take burst mode shots cos she said she look very auntie HAHAHA) applying the treatment for me.

Its somewhat a slightly runny, herbal smelling paste that feels warmish when it first goes on. There’s some slight tingling but nothing too uncomfortable. I didn’t deem it polite to ask for a full list of ingredients since its bound to be a trade secret but it really, really smelled like something my grandma would brew in a claypot over a charcoal fire.

You’ll be able to see little bits and pieces of what I assume are herbs in your hair. After its on you, you’ll sit there marinating (LOL) under a steamer for some time while the magic happens.

This treatment claims to have 5 major functions:

  • Remove dandruff
  • Remove excess oil on scalp
  • Prevent hair loss
  • Improve hair growth
  • Eliminate grey hair

I do have the first two problems so did this work out for me?

I stole Herine’s (who coincidentally has a new blog now – herine.wordpress.com – click!) scalp picture so you can see how squeaky clean it is.

For me, I didn’t quite like the immediate effects because my hair itself was kinda dry, squeaky and floofy. And we stank up Herine’s friend’s car with all our herbal smells after that. On the upside, my scalp didn’t feel any different, but I could tell how clean it was when I touched it. And I figured out that the dry hair was only because of washing my hair twice in a couple of hours and the…… blow job (I’m sorry this is the only way to describe this!) I received. So yes, you do get a wash and blow at Tip Toe when you are done.

I persevered and didn’t wash my hair for 3 days after that. Usually, I start getting itchy and flaky on the second day but this did not happen at all. There was also no white gunk under my nails when I scratched my head for fun. Which was kind of amazing to me. The overly dry parts along my hairline also naturally fell off in a big piece and left no blood or pink underneath.

When I did finally wash myself, the combination of the still lingering herbal scent mixed with my commercial shampoo was noxious, to say the least. So do be prepared to smell a little bit like a herbal chicken dish for about a week. I didn’t mind it at all so it wasn’t an issue for me..

My scalp was rather healthy for a generous amount of time. It didn’t flake or become overly greasy for an estimated 3 washes. Which for me is about a week since I wash on alternate days. This treatment also says that results will be visible in 3 months, but I thought my one and only time had impressive results.

I have zero qualms about paying out of my own pocket for follow up sessions and am intending to send my mom there for her garden of grey hair. So if you think that I’m recommending this, and I seldom really recommend things anyway – its a resounding yes. Prices start at $38, if I remember correctly.

Tip Toe Nails & Hair Spa
Block 826, Tampines Street 81, #01-118
Tel: 9161 1243

Facebook | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Natural Herbal Hair Care at Tip Toe Nails & Hair Spa

Leave a Reply

