No. 


In a dog’s world, humans are immortals that can live 500-odd years. If a dog could speak..

“They live so long. But the good ones still bond with us our entire lives. These immortals are so kind. We must be good friends to them.”

“Now I am old. The fur around my muzzle is grey and my joints ache when we walk together. Yet she remains unchanged – her hair still glossy, her skin still fresh and her step sprightly.

But when she carries me, my paws are weightless and ache no more. My heart is joyful because I am close to her heart. In her arms, I am young again. This immortal gives me life when my life is ending.

This immortal lifts me to soft surfaces I was once scolded for jumping up to. She buries her face into the fur at my neck, like when I was younger and she wanted to dominate me. But now, wetness seeps through to my skin. This immortal feels grief at my leaving. I am but a short lived creature who lives for her. This immortal has much more time to come yet mourns my loss.

It has been a full life for me with her. Time comes and time goes but time cannot take away the love I have for her.”


It’s only 2 nights my baby love. Then you can come home and be with me again. You will come home and be with me again.

It’s just a holiday, like Mommy always goes to. You will feel better after your holiday, just like Mommy always does.

Because Mommy now knows for sure – I can’t live without you.

One thought on “No. 

Leave a comment